Andy Yates in Bariloche, Argentina

I have been in Bariloche, Argentina for a few days now getting ready for the third last PKRA tour event for the year. Leading the tour, I thought it was worthwhile to get here with plenty of time before the competition to train and acclimatize. I’m so glad I did, it’s freezing here! Easily the coldest place I’ve ever kited.

I went for my first kite today at the competition site. It didn’t last long, maybe 35 minutes. The water is what makes it hard; it co

mes from the melting of the snow from the mountains that surround the lake.  It seems so strange to me to see snow while I’m kiting. The water pretty much causes instant numbing of hands and feet. Anyway, despite the cold, I did manage to have a good first session here. Quite a few locals came down to the waters edge to watch which was good.

Kiting aside, the place here is amazing. I went for a walk early this morning and took some great photos of the place.

The competition starts in a few days. I’m going for another win to really solidify my place at number 1 and put me in an even better position to be world champion!

Leave a comment